top of page

Judging panel choose 2017 nominees

The initial round of judging for the 2017 SELECT Awards took place at the end of July, with a record number of entries received for the six categories. Here, we reveal the nominees who will now be carefully assessed before the winners are announced at our gala dinner in Glasgow this October

The judging process for the 2017 SELECT Awards is two-fold, and begins when a panel of industry experts judge the paper entries.

This year’s judging panel duly gathered at the SELECT offices on 27 July. Chaired by Stan Johnston, chairman of SELECT’s Registration Board, the judging panel is made up as follows:

  • Stan Johnston, Chairman

  • Anne Vessey, Electrical Distributors Association (EDA)

  • Wayne Mackay, Electrical Safety First

  • Newell McGuiness, SELECT

  • Dave Forrester, SELECT

  • Alan Wilson, SELECT

The judges had received copies of the entries before this judgement day – AKA ‘J-Day’ – and came armed with their suggestions for nominees for each category. They then had the tough task of whittling down the entries to a final list of potential winners.

The panel soon got down to business and for each category, judges were asked to nominate their top four. After each judge had nominated their suggested nominees, the tricky business of finalising a list of three or four potential winners got under way. This process can sometimes take a while as the judges compare and contrast nominees. For each category, a great deal of debate ensued, before the final list of nominees was settled on.

The final shortlist of nominees is listed on the opposite page. A round of face-to-face judging with another independent judge will now follow, before the winners are announced in Glasgow on Friday 13 October.

The awards will be presented at a special gala dinner evening in the Radisson Blu hotel, with more than 400 guests in attendance. As well as the presentation of the awards, the evening features top class after-dinner entertainment and a dinner dance.

Look out for the next edition of CABLETalk, in which we will announce all the winners.



“Our black tie awards are the most prestigious on the UK Electrotechnical calendar. This year’s SELECT Awards are again dedicated to upholding and celebrating the highest standards in our industry with categories covering a wide range of disciplines and services. We will celebrate innovation and reward individuals and Members across the industry in Scotland. Good luck to every nominee and I look forward to seeing you at the Awards ceremony and dinner in Glasgow on Friday 13 October.”

Newell McGuiness, Managing Director, SELECT



Best Delivery of Customer Service

Sponsored by BlueSky Pensions

This category is open to Member companies who can show that they consistently go the extra mile to provide excellent customer service. This can relate to a bespoke service specially designed to overcome a common barrier or obstacle facing customers or to a system put in place to meet the needs of customers. The nominees are:

AKD (Edinburgh)

Crown House Technologies (Motherwell)

Ideal Electrical Solutions (UK) Ltd (Edinburgh)

Kenneth Ferguson (Oban)


Best Visual Promotion

Sponsored by Voltimum

This category is open to all SELECT Member companies who can show that they have proactively used promotional materials to raise the profile and awareness of their business. This can be branding on vehicles and vans, or internal posters and advertising. The nominees are:

AKD (Edinburgh)

Alba Facilities Services Ltd (Glasgow)

Ideal Electrical Solutions (UK) Ltd (Edinburgh)

Invincible Security (Ardrossan)

I-Protech (Aberdeen)


Best Electrical Safety Project

Sponsored by Electrical Safety First

This category is open to all SELECT Member companies who can show that they have had a clear and positive effect on enhancing electrical safety. This could relate to an installation or a project where new safety systems or procedures were implemented. The nominees are:

Crown House Technologies (Motherwell)

Edminston Brown & Co Ltd (Glasgow)

Select Electrical and Mechanical Services Ltd (Dumfries)


Best Small Contractor

Sponsored by ECInsurance

This category is open to all SELECT Member companies with 10 employees or fewer. All entrants are considered on merit but determining factors will include how well regarded the contractor is by customers, how well the company presents itself, as well as evidence of a clear business plan and sales and marketing strategy. The nominees are:

ATD (Kirkcowan)

EAL Electrical Services (Grantown-on-Spey)

Interlink Lighting & Electrical (Glasgow)

Kenneth Ferguson (Oban)


Best Use of Training

Sponsored by Ross Electrical

This category is open to Member companies who can show how training has been used to enhance their business. The nominees are:

AKD (Edinburgh)

Arthur McKay (Edinburgh)

Richard Irvin (Aberdeen)


A number of other awards will also be made on the evening, including:

Best New Product

Sponsored by CEF

Lifetime Achievement

Sponsored by Schneider Electric

Apprentice of the Year

Sponsored by The SJIB & Edmundson Electrical

Find out more and keep up to date at


For more information email Demi Armstrong on or call 0131 445 5577.

Recent Posts
bottom of page